Archives:Lunchtime Prog Rock from The Netherlands’ Sun Caged

Sun CagedSo the other day, when I was coming home from dropping my wife in Trenton so that she could look for dead people, I listened to some prog rock. The band that I listened to was Sun Caged and their 2007 release Artemisia. I found them in the “Just for You” section at MOG. The blurb at the bottom said “because you listened to Suspyre and Roswell Six”. Since I like both of those bands, I figured I would like them. I figured right, some really good stuff!! According to the Prog Archives Sun Caged is:

an impressive Dutch progrock band that teamed up in ’99 with these musicians: Marcel Coenen (guitar), Rob van der Loo (bass and stick), Joost van den Broek (keyboards) and Sascha Burchardt (vocals), she arrives after the first EP. The name SUN CAGED is derived from a song by SIMPLY RED. The new SUN CAGED from 2003 features Marcel Coenen (guitar), AndrĂ© Vuurboom (vocals), Joost van den Broek (keyboards), Rob van der Loo (bas and stick) and Dennis Leeflang (drums), known from WITHIN TEMPTATION, a famous Dutch gothic band. By the way, the young Joost van den Broek stunned many prog heads as a guest musician during the ARJEN ‘AYREON’ LUCASSEN tour last year Read More.

The musician line-up for Artemisia is…Sun CAGED BAND– Marcel Coenen / guitars
– Roel Van Helden / drums & percussion
– Rene Kroon / keyboards, backing vocals
– Roel Vink / bass
– Paul Adrian Villareal / vocals, acoustic guitar
– Barend Tromp / Fretless bass (2 & 7), additional Fretless bass parts (10)
– Nick Hameury / screams (6)
– Lee Loveless / voice (4)
– Amanda Loveless / voice (9)

Overall the album has a 3.95 rating and is labeled as an excellent addition to any Prog Rock collection! And I totally agree I rally thought the Marcel Coenen’s guitar work on several of the tracks was outstanding. The album had a lot if different mood changes and kept my attention throughout the album! You can check them out at and on Facebook

So here’s some lunchtime music from the Netherlands’ Sun Caged “Afraid to Fly” from Artemisia!